Who We Are


Edward Skidelsky is a lecturer in philosophy at the University of Exeter. He is author of Ernst Cassirer: The Last Philosopher of Culture (2009) and, together with Robert Skidelsky, How Much is Enough? (2012). Another book, The Language of the Virtues, is forthcoming with Princeton University Press. He has written regularly for Prospect, New Statesman, Critic and First Things.

Dr. Edward Skidelsky


Humphrey Allen has a first class BA and MPhil in philosophy from the University of Cambridge. He is a keen pianist, cellist and mountaineer.

Humphrey Allen

Digital Media Manager

With 20 years’ experience in digital marketing strategy, online communication and email marketing, Massimiliano Bolondi is responsible for amplifying CAF’s mission across diverse digital media.

Massimiliano Bolondi Digital Media Manager at Committee for Academic Freedom

Massimiliano Bolondi

Advisory Board

Prof. Nigel Biggar

Nigel Biggar is Regius Professor Emeritus of Moral Theology at the University of Oxford and Distinguished Scholar-in-Residence at Pusey House, Oxford. Among his recent books are Colonialism: A Moral Reckoning (2023) and What’s Wrong with Rights? (2020). Nigel Biggar was appointed Commander of the British Empire “for services to higher education” in the 2021 Queen’s Birthday Honours list.  

Prof. Simon Conway Morris

Simon Conway Morris is Emeritus Professor of Evolutionary Palaeobiology in the University of Cambridge and a Fellow of St John’s College. He is author of Life’s Solution (2005), The Runes of Evolution (2015) and most recently From Extraterrestrials to Animal Minds (2022), as well as numerous scientific papers on subjects ranging from palaeobiology and evolution to science & religion. He broadcasts regularly on radio and television.

Dr. Marie Daouda

Marie K. Daouda is a Lecturer in French at Oriel College, Oxford, and a fellow of Raston College, Savannah. Her research focuses on the reception of antiquity in modern times, on artistic representations of good and evil, and on 19th-20th century religious and political crises in France and the UK. She writes regularly on culture, heritage and identity for the Telegraph, Critic, UnHerd, and Engelsberg Ideas.

Dr. Anna Loutfi

Anna Loutfi is an Equality and Human Rights Barrister with Clerksroom/The Barrister Group. She taught legal and social history at the Central European University before retraining as a barrister with a specialisation in employment and freedom of expression cases. Anna Loutfi is a legal consultant to The Bad Law Project and Don’t Divide Us. She has an affiliation with the Law School at King’s College London and is currently working on a book about compelled speech.

Tomiwa Owolade

Tomiwa Owolade holds an MA in English Literature from University College London and now works as a journalist and critic. He writes on topics including identity politics, freedom of speech, religion, film, literature philosophy and history for New Statesman, the Times and the Sunday Times has speaks frequently on BBC Radio 4 and Times Radio. His book This is Not America came out with Atlantic in 2023.

Prof. Lord Robert Skidelsky

Robert Skidelsky is emeritus professor of political economy at Warwick University. His three-volume biography of John Maynard Keynes (1983,1992, 2000) won five prizes. He is also author of Britain in the 20th Century (2014), Money and Government (2018) and is currently writing a book on humans and machines. Robert Skidelsky was made a member of the House of Lords in 1991 (he sits on the cross-benches) and elected a fellow of the British Academy in 1994.

Prof. Alice Sullivan

Alice Sullivan is Professor of Sociology at the UCL Social Research Institute. She is a quantitative social scientist with many years of experience in the fields of data collection and analysis. Her empirical work has focussed on educational, social and health inequalities. She has also written about conflicts between scholarly and scientific values and gender identity politics. She is the co-editor (with Selina Todd) of Sex and Gender: A Contemporary Reader (2023).